NSW Bricklaying TAFEs Select Apprentices of the Year 2017

The NSW Bricklaying Apprentices of the Year 2017 were announced earlier this month at the Masonry Contractors Australia (MCA) Awards dinner to mark this special event.  Individual winners were selected by six of the seven NSW TAFEs and the awards were presented by the MCA and Australian Brick and Blocklayers Training Foundation (ABBTF).

CEO of ABBTF said “It was a great pleasure to see the six highest performers from NSW TAFEs, achieve recognition for their dedication to training and skills development.  It was especially good that Lance Glasson, a Stage 2 Apprentice at Hunter TAFE, was amongst an otherwise full line up of Stage 3 winners.   It has been a productive year for Kevin Sawdy, who was also one of Bathurst’s winning Golden Trowel 2017 team.”

NSW Apprentice of the Year 2017 Winners
NSW TAFE Training Locations2017 WinnerApprenticeship Level
BathurstKevin SawdyStage 3
GranvilleMathew HeapeStage 3
HunterLance GlassonStage 2
MillerJason WallaceStage 3
NirimbaTylor VellaStage 3
Coffs HarbourFlynn MuirStage 3

The six equally valued and congratulated winners of the NSW Apprentice of the Year 2017 Award are set out here.  Unfortunately they could not all be present at the presentation night given distance and work commitments but will no doubt be celebrated by their local TAFE, team mates and employers.

It was an excellent night and we look forward to ABBTF’s involvement in future MCA Apprentices of the Year Award nights.

ABBTF Regional Manager NSW-ACT

Leave a Reply

Interested in trying Bricklaying? Then please contact us on 1300 66 44 96